Plan for Getting Paid

Denise M. Brown, founder of The Caregiving Years Training Academy, began writing about paying family caregivers more than 20 years ago. In 2019, she began researching the possibility of families hiring a family member to provide care. Her research including conversations with financial planners and elder law attorneys. An article she wrote in the spring of 2019 which appeared in CSA Journal (Opportunities and Challenges When Family Caregivers Get Paid fueled her to desire to create a solution to help a family member get paid for providing care.

In September 2021, Denise released a planning tool for families to use with a Certified Caregiving Consultant™ to think through the hiring options, payment structure and contract specifics. With these details in place, families can then meet with an elder law attorney and financial planner to ensure their plan works for the family, the caree and the reimbursed family member.

You can meet with Denise on the second Friday at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT, Noon PT) of every month to begin your planning process. You then can schedule a follow-up session with a Certified Caregiving Consultant to individualize your plan.

Download your Paying Family Planning Tool.

RSVP to join Denise for an upcoming virtual meeting to being your planning process.