Join Our Caregiving Listener Project on February 16

On February 16, we want to create opportunities for Listening Artists to connect with Caregiving Story-Tellers. Volunteer for our Caregiving Listener Project™.

When you care for a family member, you may struggle to find an empathetic listener, someone who receives your story with compassion and then engages in a conversation about your experience.

That struggle leads to a feeling of being disconnected, of not belonging within a community.

As volunteer, you’ll listen to 4-minute stories told by family caregivers and former family caregivers. After you hear the story, you’ll engage in a conversation about the story and the experience. In total, you’ll spend 20 minutes with each Story-Teller. When you volunteer for an hour, you’ll hear two stories.

We’ll also teach you how to listen in a way that energizes you and removes the pressure to do more than simply being present as you hear a story. When you volunteer to be a Caregiving Listener, you’ll receive our two-hour training, The Art of Listening, at no cost. At the end of the training, you’ll earn the Listening Artist designation.

When you volunteer to be a Caregiving Story-Telling, you’ll tell a four-minute story about a caregiving moment, experience, situation, challenge or relationship. You choose the story and then tell it from memory or from your notes.

Our event will take place for three hours beginning at Noon ET (11 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. PT).  You can choose a one-hour slot to join us as a volunteer or share your caregiving story.

To learn more about our Caregiving Listener Project, register to join us for our informational meeting which will take place on December 12 at 1 p.m. ET (Noon CT, 10 a.m. PT). We’ll record our meeting so still register to join us to receive the archive.

After our meeting on December 12, we’ll share details on how you can schedule your Art of Listening trining and sign up for a one-hour slot as a Listener or Story-Teller on February 16.

Thanks for all you do!

Resources

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *